• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Pinterest
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Instagram

SHADES OF PERSEPHONE

          "I knew very little about Chania originally. My guidebook called it Venice of the East. Some that I met described it as deliriously Cretan while those less romantic in their responses claimed barbarians from the North overran it during the summer months. Others had it anywhere from arty to cosmopolitan, but priced within reason. I arrived. I stayed.

           "Church bells at dawn, goat song, the generosity of a warm and haughty people, ethereal light, nocturnal rhythms of Mediterranean venality, these presented an enticing fusion of spiritual and carnal attractions. This small city, in particular its old Venetian harbour, took hold of my heart with the grip of a metropolis. Dark eyed savants in cafés assured me that Chania represented the oldest site of urban life in Europe. Old boys in knee-high boots cried Chania for Arms! Quayside ouzo, fiery discourse, exotic flavours, searing sunsets, and bouzouki music. All agreeable possibilities. And, of course, Magalee"

REVIEWS 

MY WIFE AND I REAKKY ENJIYED READING THIS BOOK TOGETHER. SUCH AN EXCELLENT MYSTERY FOR FANS OF GREEK MYTHOLOGY. WE'D DISCUSS THE CUES AND LOOK UP PICTURES OF CHANIA AS I READ IT ALOUD. SHE TRAVELED IN GREECE IN THE EIGHTIES NOT LONG AFTER THE STORY WAS SET, AND SAYS STIRLING CAPRURES WELL THE BEAUTY AND FLAVOUR OF THE PLACE AND TIME. IT HAS LEFT US WANTING TO BOOK TICKETS TO CRETE!

EXCEPTIONAL FIND 

AMAZON CUSTOMER

NOVEMBER  22, 2019

A friend gave me a copy of the novel to red. I had no idea what to expect. To say I was pleasantly surprised an understatement.

Set in the early 1980s inCrete, the book explores the sometimes tenuous relationships of a cast of characters that ebbs and flows in the town of Chania, an ancient Venetian port. Central to the plot is a mystery that in som ways involves each of these characters.

The author skillfully weaves elements of mythology, Shakespearean tragedy and historic allusions to create a novel that is both intriguing and satisfying.

The mystery is not an easy read, buts a rewarding experience for those who enjoy a challenge and who appreciate fine writing.

I am looking forward to the next novel created by this author

A COMPELLING READ...HARD TO PUTDOWN ONCE THE TALE UNFOLDS

LILIAN KAVAN

NOVEMBER 3, 2019

 THE OLD VENETIAN PORT OF CHANIA

KEVIN IN THE VALLEY

NOVEMBER 4, 2019 VERIFIED PURCHASE

FAN OF BOTH GREEK MYTHOLOGY AND MYSTERIES? LOOK NO  FURTHER

SHADES OF PERSEPHONE

What a fantastic read! Immediately the reader is aware of the beautiful writing. Smooth, tight, descriptive, full if irony and nuance, it reveals the narrative. The pace is quick, things happen. The many and varied characters, the subtleties of their relationships, the misunderstandings, the innuendoes unveil themselves early. Wonderful, magical Crete in the early '80's charms and, of course, enhances the mystery.  And, it is this mystery, with its suggestion of myth overlaid with truth that is the essence of the piece.

Persephone's playground

PERSEPHONE'S PLAYGROUND

Montreal

from Mont-Royal

a view to the historical present